Portugal guide
Portugal digital nomad visa (D8) in 2026: income, documents and the two tracks
The two D8 tracks, side by side
The temporary stay D8 gives up to a year with multiple entries and one extension but builds no residence history, while the residence D8 is a four month, two entry visa that leads to a two year AIMA permit and three year renewals.
There are two D8 visas, and choosing between them decides everything else on this page. The Portuguese visa portal does not call them "track one" and "track two", which is why the confusion survives in every forum thread. It splits national visas into temporary stay visas and residency visas, and remote work appears in the document list for both, with the same income test.
The temporary stay D8. The portal says a temporary stay visa covers a stay of less than a year, stays valid for the whole stay and allows multiple entries. You come and go as you like, you never sit in an AIMA waiting room, and at the end you leave. Lexidy reports that it can be extended once, for one further year, at the consulate that issued it, and that it does not convert into a residence permit. Nothing you spend on this track counts towards permanent residence or citizenship.
The residence D8. This is the one people mean when they say they are moving to Portugal. The consulate issues a residency visa valid for four months with two entries, and during that window you must apply to AIMA for a residence permit. Lexidy describes a first permit of two years followed by renewals of three years each. From the day that first permit is issued, you are accumulating legal residence.
How to choose in one question. Do you want Portugal to become the country you live in, or a country you spend a year in? If it is the second, the temporary stay track is simpler and has no AIMA queue. If it is the first, or if you are not sure, take the residence track, because you cannot retrofit a residency clock onto a year you already spent. Our Portugal country page sets the D8 next to everything else a move involves, and the short answer lives at D8 temporary stay visa versus D8 residence visa.
One thing neither track gives you: a tax deal. The D8 is an immigration document, and tax residency has its own tests, covered in our Portugal income tax guide.
| D8 temporary stay | D8 residence | |
|---|---|---|
| Visa validity | The whole stay, which must be under one year | Four months |
| Entries on the visa | Multiple | Two |
| What happens in Portugal | Nothing, you live on the visa | AIMA application, biometrics, residence permit |
| After the first period | One extension of one year, then you leave | Permit of two years, then renewals of three years |
| Counts towards permanent residence and citizenship | No | Yes, from the date the permit is issued |
| Income test | Four times the minimum wage, 3,680 euros in 2026 | Four times the minimum wage, 3,680 euros in 2026 |
| Consular fee | 110 euros | 110 euros |
| Suits | A one year test drive with plenty of travel | An actual move |
The income rule: 3,680 euros a month, averaged over the last three months
The official document list asks for an average monthly income over the last three months of at least four times the guaranteed minimum monthly wage, which is 3,680 euros in 2026 and moves every time the minimum wage moves.
The visa portal never prints a euro figure. The residency document list asks for "proof of average monthly income for the last three months with a minimum value equivalent to four monthly minimum guaranty remuneration". Three things follow from that sentence.
The threshold moves with the minimum wage. The Portuguese government raised the minimum wage from 870 to 920 euros for 2026, announced on 17 December 2025. Four times 920 is 3,680 euros a month, or 44,160 euros over twelve months. The tripartite agreement behind the increase points at 970 euros in 2027 and 1,020 euros in 2028; if those targets hold, the D8 line becomes 3,880 and then 4,080 euros. Treat that as a projection: only the wage in force on the day you apply counts.
It is an average over three months, not your best year. A freelancer who invoiced 2,000 euros in June, 6,000 in July and 3,200 in August averages 3,733 euros and clears the line. A strong year does not rescue three thin months, so choose your filing month from your bank statements rather than from your flight dates. If you are paid in dollars or pounds, convert each month with Currency Check and keep a margin for exchange rate swings.
Gross or net is not settled by the text. Advisers quote 3,680 euros as a gross figure, but the MNE page does not say gross or net. Consulates read the bank statements you give them, so the safe plan is for the money that actually reaches your account to clear the line.
The income has to come from outside Portugal. The D8 exists for people paid by foreign employers and foreign clients: Portugal is not opening its labour market to you, it is accepting that you bring a salary with you. The mistakes people make with this test are set out in our post on the Portugal D8 visa income requirement, and Visa Check ranks the Portuguese options against your own situation using the same dated rules.
| Year | Minimum wage | D8 income test (4 times) | Over twelve months | Savings commonly expected (12 times) |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025 | 870 euros | 3,480 euros a month | 41,760 euros | Not used here |
| 2026 | 920 euros | 3,680 euros a month | 44,160 euros | 11,040 euros |
| 2027 (agreed target) | 970 euros | About 3,880 euros a month | About 46,560 euros | About 11,640 euros |
| 2028 (agreed target) | 1,020 euros | About 4,080 euros a month | About 48,960 euros | About 12,240 euros |
Savings, the 11,040 euro figure, and the family add on
Plan on about 11,040 euros of savings for one applicant in 2026, and on two published readings for a household: 460 euros more a month for a spouse under the means of subsistence rules, or 1,840 euros under the stricter reading some advisers use.
Beyond the monthly income, consulates expect a balance, usually in a Portuguese bank account, and the figure that circulates is 11,040 euros for a single applicant: twelve times the 920 euro minimum wage. Imin Portugal and Global Citizen Solutions both give it. The MNE list only asks for proof of financial resources, so the amount you actually need is a judgement made by the post handling your file.
The household is where published guides disagree. The visa portal's means of subsistence page, which applies Portaria 1563/2007 to the 920 euro wage, weights each member of the household: 100 percent of the minimum wage for the first adult, 50 percent for each further adult and 30 percent for each child. Its own example for two adults and two children totals 1,932 euros a month. What no official page says is how those weights combine with the D8 multiplier, so two readings circulate.
The means of subsistence reading. The percentages apply to the minimum wage itself: a spouse adds 460 euros a month and each child 276 euros, on top of your 3,680. A couple needs 4,140 euros a month and about 16,560 euros of savings.
The stricter reading. Some advisers, MSP Lawyer among them, apply the percentages to the 3,680 euro threshold instead: 1,840 euros per spouse and 1,104 euros per child, so 5,520 euros a month for a couple. We found no official text behind it, but the consular officer decides the file.
What we would do: plan on the higher figure, and email the consulate or visa centre handling your file to ask what monthly amount and what savings they expect for your exact household. If your spouse also works remotely and earns 3,680 euros a month, two separate D8 applications remove the question. The full working, with the legal text behind each reading, is in our post on the D8 visa family income requirement.
| Household | Means of subsistence reading (percent of the 920 euro wage) | Stricter reading (percent of the 3,680 euro threshold) |
|---|---|---|
| Single applicant | 3,680 euros | 3,680 euros |
| Couple | 4,140 euros | 5,520 euros |
| Couple with one child | 4,416 euros | 6,624 euros |
| Couple with two children | 4,692 euros | 7,728 euros |
| Savings, single applicant | About 11,040 euros | About 11,040 euros |
Proving the work is real, and that it happens somewhere else
Employees show a work contract or an employer declaration, independents show a company contract, a services contract or a document attesting services provided, everyone adds proof of fiscal residence, and three months of bank statements have to match those documents.
The visa portal splits the proof of work into two lists, and knowing which one you are on saves a wasted appointment.
If you are employed by a foreign company, the residency list asks for a work contract or a declaration from the employer confirming the labour link; the temporary stay list also accepts a promise of a work contract. A declaration is the flexible option when your contract is thirty pages of boilerplate a consular officer cannot read quickly. Ask for one page on letterhead with your name, role, start date and gross monthly salary, and a sentence confirming that the work is performed remotely and may be performed from Portugal. That last clause is the one employers forget and consulates look for.
If you are independent, the residency list accepts a company contract, a contract for the provision of services, or a document attesting services provided to one or more entities; the temporary stay list adds a written proposal for a services contract. In practice that means your main client contracts plus invoices. Nine ordinary invoices from three clients across three months read better than one enormous invoice from one client in one month.
Everyone adds a document attesting fiscal residence. A certificate of tax residence from the country you currently live in shows where your income is taxed today, which is exactly what tells the consulate the income comes from outside Portugal.
And the bank statements have to reconcile. Three months, showing the income arriving in an account in your name, with amounts that match the contracts and invoices. If your invoices say 4,200 euros and your account shows 2,900 after a platform took its cut, explain it in a cover letter rather than hoping nobody subtracts.
The Portuguese client question. A file built mainly on Portuguese clients belongs on the D2 rather than the D8, and the consulate reads the invoices. Our Portugal visa options guide sets the two side by side.
Accommodation: why a twelve month lease matters
The official list does not state a lease length, but advisers report that consulates expect a rental agreement of at least one year or a property deed, and short term bookings are one of the four most cited refusal reasons.
Accommodation is where an otherwise strong file quietly falls apart. The residency document list does not spell out a lease length, and consulates fill that gap with their own expectation. Imin Portugal lists accommodation "with at least a 1-year extended agreement for rented properties" among the prerequisites, and Global Citizen Solutions names short term or improperly registered accommodation among the four common refusal reasons.
Why a booking does not work. A three month Airbnb confirmation proves you have somewhere to sleep, not that you are moving. The visa is for residence, and the accommodation evidence is read as evidence of intent.
Why registration matters. A Portuguese lease is declared by the landlord to the tax authority, and that declaration is what turns a piece of paper into evidence. A private agreement the landlord will not declare is weak at a consular counter, and it also means no rent receipts later, when you want them for tax and for AIMA.
The chicken and egg problem. You are asked to sign a twelve month lease, usually with a deposit and advance rent, for a flat you may not occupy for months, on the strength of a visa you do not have yet. People usually handle it in one of three ways: rent a cheaper long term place outside Lisbon or Porto and accept the first months as a cost of applying, sign with a landlord or agency used to visa applicants, or use a relocation service that supplies a registered lease. Ask for a clause that lets you terminate if the visa is refused, and never pay a large sum before verifying that the landlord owns the property.
Registration, deposits and contract terms are covered in our renting guide, and the short answer is at do I need a 12 month lease to apply for a Portugal residence visa.
The rest of the document pack: NIF, bank account, criminal record and insurance
Every residency visa needs the signed form, two photos, a passport valid three months beyond your return, an apostilled criminal record certificate, travel insurance covering medical costs and repatriation, and proof of financial resources; consulates also expect a NIF and a Portuguese bank account in practice.
The general documents are the same for every residency visa, and they are where timing beats effort. Work backwards from the consular appointment.
The form, photos and passport. The national visa application form, completed and signed, two recent passport style photographs, and a passport valid for at least three months beyond your intended return date.
A criminal record certificate with a Hague apostille or legalisation. From the country or countries where you have lived, and translated by a certified translator, since missing apostilles and certified translations are one of the four refusal reasons advisers cite. For Americans this means an FBI identity history summary, then an apostille, then the translation, and each step takes weeks. Certificates go stale, so sequence the chain so the certificate is recent on appointment day rather than starting it first and watching it age in a drawer.
Insurance. The portal asks for travel insurance covering medical expenses, including urgent assistance and repatriation. Feather notes that policies should cover the full stay and include hospitalisation, with the benefit limits printed on the certificate. Basic Portuguese private plans run about 30 to 60 euros a month and comprehensive plans 80 to 150. Registering with the SNS after you arrive does not satisfy the consulate, which decides on the day you apply; our healthcare guide covers what comes after.
A NIF, the Portuguese tax number. Not on the visa list but expected in practice, because the bank account and the lease both need it. Non residents from outside the EU request it through a representative holding a power of attorney.
A Portuguese bank account. Also practice rather than regulation, and useful because it is where your savings evidence sits. The sequence of NIF, then bank, then lease is laid out in our first month admin guide.
Order of operations. NIF first, then the bank account, then the lease, then the criminal record chain, then insurance, then book the appointment.
What the D8 costs, and the lines we will not price for you
The consular fee is 110 euros per applicant and an appeal against a refusal is 75 euros; insurance, apostilles, translations, the visa centre fee and the AIMA permit fee sit on top, and the money that is not a fee, savings and a signed lease, is usually the largest line.
The Portuguese state charges 110 euros for a national visa application, whichever D8 track you choose, and each accompanying family member pays their own fee. That is the anchor, because the internet tends to quote a bundle that mixes a government fee with an agency margin.
The other official number is 75 euros, the fee for an appeal against a national visa decision, set by Order 229/2021 article 15, with family reunification appeals excluded. The fee page exempts children under six, descendants joining under family reunification, holders of Portuguese study scholarships, highly qualified researchers, and patients travelling under health cooperation agreements.
Lines we leave blank. The visa centre service fee, where the consulate outsources appointments, varies by country and appears when you book. Apostilles and certified translations vary so much by country and document that a range would mislead more than it helps. The AIMA permit fee is the one printed on your own payment reference, the DUC; the AIMA fee table in force since 1 March 2026 sets a renewal at 247.30 euros at a counter or 185.60 euros online, and the residence permit guide follows the AIMA side.
What a realistic budget looks like. For a single applicant on the residence track: 110 euros to the consulate, a visa centre fee, the criminal record chain, insurance for the whole stay, travel to your consulate if it is not in your city, then the AIMA fee once you are in Portugal. Then the money that is not a fee and still has to exist: about 11,040 euros in savings and a twelve month lease signed from abroad, which usually means a deposit and advance rent months before you sleep in the flat. The comparison across D7, D8 and D2 is at how much does a Portugal D7 or D8 visa cost in total.
| Line | Amount | Source |
|---|---|---|
| National visa application fee | 110 euros per applicant | Official MNE fee table |
| Appeal against a decision | 75 euros, family reunification excluded | Official MNE fee table, Order 229/2021 article 15 |
| Fee exemptions | Children under 6, descendants under family reunification, Portuguese study scholarship holders, highly qualified researchers, health cooperation patients | Official MNE fee table |
| Private health insurance | About 30 to 60 euros a month on a basic Portuguese plan, 80 to 150 comprehensive | Feather, April 2026 |
| Visa centre service fee | Not published here | Varies by country, shown at booking |
| Apostilles and certified translations | Not published here | Varies by country and document |
| AIMA permit fee | The amount on your own DUC | AIMA payment reference |
| Savings to show | About 11,040 euros for one adult | Adviser expectation, twelve times the minimum wage |
How to apply, and the 2026 timeline stage by stage
You apply at the Portuguese consulate or visa centre covering your place of residence, and advisers reported six to nine months from application to residence card in 2026, split between documents, the consular decision, AIMA biometrics and the card.
Where you apply. At the Portuguese consular post responsible for your place of legal residence, or the visa centre it has outsourced appointments to. Jurisdiction follows your address, not your preference.
Not from a beach in Portugal. The manifestação de interesse, which let people already in Portugal regularise from inside the country, was abolished on 3 June 2024 by Decree-Law 37-A/2024. Arriving on a ninety day Schengen stay and hoping to convert it is no longer a plan; our Schengen guide explains what that stay does and does not allow, and the short answer is at can I apply for the D8 visa while in Portugal on a tourist stay.
Six to nine months end to end. Global Citizen Solutions put the residence track at 6 to 9 months from application to card as of June 2026, because of the AIMA backlog. Plan a lease, a notice period and a school term against nine months, not three.
Documents. The criminal record chain sets the pace. Running the NIF, the bank account and the lease in parallel keeps this stage short, which is why a scouting trip to Lisbon or Porto often pays for itself.
The consulate. You submit originals and copies, give biometrics and hand over the passport. Imin Portugal allows up to three months for the decision and Global Citizen Solutions four. A residence visa comes back valid four months with two entries, and inside that window you must be in Portugal and apply to AIMA.
AIMA. Since April 2025 AIMA does not accept incomplete files, so a missing translation is not something you email later, it is an appointment you lose. Jobbatical puts biometrics appointments at one to three months out, up to six in busy periods, and the card at one to three months after biometrics; Global Citizen Solutions reports AIMA appointments three to four months out with the current backlog. Our post on AIMA waiting times covers the queue, and the dated answer is at how long does the D8 visa take from application to residence card.
| Stage | What happens | Typical duration |
|---|---|---|
| Preparation | NIF, bank, lease, criminal record, apostille, translation, insurance | About a month, longer if the criminal record chain is slow |
| Consulate | Appointment, biometrics, decision on the residency visa | Up to 3 to 4 months |
| Travel window | Residency visa valid 4 months, 2 entries | Inside the 4 months |
| AIMA biometrics | Appointment for the residence permit | 1 to 3 months, up to 6 in busy periods |
| Card issued | Residence permit produced and delivered | 1 to 3 months after biometrics |
| Total | Application to card in hand | 6 to 9 months, reported June 2026 |
Why D8 files get refused, and what the 75 euro appeal does
The four refusal reasons advisers cite most are income below or badly proven against 3,680 euros, unclear proof of remote work, short term or unregistered accommodation, and missing apostilles or certified translations.
Refusals cluster around four things, and three of them are about assembly rather than eligibility. People are rarely refused because they earn too little; they are refused because they proved it badly.
Your options after a refusal. Read the letter properly: it states the legal ground and the deadline. An administrative appeal costs 75 euros, with family reunification appeals excluded from the fee. An appeal suits a decision that turned on a document the post did not receive or did not read. If the refusal names something you can fix, a fresh application with a corrected file is often the shorter road, though it means a new three month income window and fresh documents.
A cover letter helps. Nothing requires one, but a clear page setting out who you are, what you do, who pays you, where you will live and which document proves each point makes a reviewer's job easy.
When to get help. If the refusal names your income or the nature of your work, if it cites public order, if your record is not clean, or if this is a second refusal, put the file in front of a lawyer registered with the Ordem dos Advogados. The longer version is at why was my D8 visa rejected and can I appeal.
| Refusal reason | What it usually means | The fix |
|---|---|---|
| Insufficient income documentation | A three month average under 3,680 euros, or statements that do not match the invoices | Choose the strongest three month window, reconcile every figure, explain platform fees in the cover letter |
| Unclear proof of remote work | An employer declaration without the remote clause, or a freelance file with one client and no contract | A declaration that says the work is remote and may be done from Portugal, plus signed client contracts |
| Short term or unregistered accommodation | A booking confirmation, a sublet, or a lease the landlord never declared | A registered lease of at least twelve months |
| Missing apostille or certified translation | One certificate without a Hague apostille, or a translation not done by a certified translator | Apostille every foreign public document, use a certified translator, keep certificates recent |
After you land: the card, renewals, absences and the residency clock
A D8 residence permit runs two years and renews for three, tolerates no more than six consecutive or eight total months outside Portugal per permit period, and starts the clock for permanent residence and citizenship on the day it is issued.
The card. A residence permit valid two years, then renewable for three year periods. From then on it is the document that matters: proof of legal residence for the SNS, banks, landlords and schools, and the date every residency clock runs from.
Renewals. Lei 23/2007 article 78(1) has you request a renewal up to 30 days before the permit expires, and GrowIN Portugal advises filing a couple of months ahead. Once the DUC payment reference is generated you have ten working days to pay it. The full process, fees and what happens when a card expires mid renewal are in the residence permit renewal and citizenship guide.
Absences. Lexidy is clear on the figures: no more than six consecutive months and no more than eight months in total outside Portugal during each permit period. For a nomad who kept moving after getting the card, those are the numbers that quietly break a renewal, so keep your boarding passes from day one and check your dates with Leave By Check.
The residency clock. Permanent residence remains available after five years of legal residence. Naturalisation changed: Lei Orgânica 1/2026, published on 18 May 2026 and in force from 19 May 2026, moved it from five years to ten for most nationalities and to seven for EU and CPLP citizens, with applications pending before that date kept under the old rule. The time now counts from the date AIMA issues the permit, not from your application or your arrival, which for a D8 applicant can be months apart. Our post on permanent residence after five years works through it.
Tax residency is a separate machine. A D8 permit does not by itself make you a Portuguese tax resident, and holding no permit does not protect you from becoming one. Someone genuinely living in Lisbon will usually meet the tests in their first full year. Start with do I become a Portuguese tax resident when I get the D8 permit, then read the income tax guide.
Bringing a partner and children at the consulate instead of waiting two years
Applying together as accompanying family at the consulate avoids the sponsor waiting period that Lei 61/2025 imposes on family reunification, which is two years for most residents and fifteen months for couples with more than eighteen months of prior cohabitation.
If your partner and children are coming, apply together. Lei 61/2025, published on 22 October 2025 and in force the following day, amended the immigration law so that a resident sponsoring family reunification normally has to have held a valid residence permit for two years before filing. That drops to fifteen months for couples who lived together for more than eighteen months before the move, and there is no wait for parents of minor children, D3 highly qualified permit holders or golden visa holders.
Two years is a long time to run a household across a border, and it is avoidable if the family is on the file from the start. Accompanying family members apply at the same consulate, at the same time, against the household income figure, with marriage or partnership certificates and birth certificates apostilled and translated like everything else. Each pays the 110 euro fee, except children under six.
If you cannot apply together, the order runs backwards from what people expect. The sponsor in Portugal files with AIMA first, AIMA has nine months to decide, extendable in complex cases but not where children are involved, and only after a favourable decision does the family member apply for a visa at the consulate. Reunified family members also carry integration obligations: Portuguese language classes, civic training, and school attendance for children.
Unmarried partners. Portugal recognises a união de facto, but a consulate will want the relationship documented rather than asserted: a joint lease, joint bills, a registered partnership certificate where your country issues one. Start collecting that paper trail early, because documented cohabitation is also what shortens the reunification wait later.
Children. Bring full birth certificates, apostilled and translated, and where only one parent travels, the other parent's notarised consent. The money side, 276 or 1,104 euros a month per child depending on the reading, is in our D8 family income post. The short version is at can I bring my spouse and children on a D8 visa, and the school side of the move is in our schools and childcare guide.
Frequently asked questions
An average of at least 3,680 euros a month over your last three months, which is four times the 920 euro minimum wage in force in 2026. The income has to come from employers or clients outside Portugal, and consulates also expect about 11,040 euros of savings for a single applicant. The figure rises every time the minimum wage does.
The temporary stay visa covers a stay of under a year with multiple entries, can be extended once, and builds no residence history. The residence visa is valid four months with two entries, during which you apply to AIMA for a two year residence permit, renewable for three years, which counts towards permanent residence and citizenship.
Not as a standard route. The manifestação de interesse, which let people already in Portugal regularise from inside the country, was abolished on 3 June 2024 by Decree-Law 37-A/2024. You apply at the Portuguese consulate or visa centre covering your place of residence, so a scouting trip is for viewings and paperwork, not for filing.
In practice, yes. The official document list does not state a length, but advisers report that consulates expect a rental agreement of at least one year or a property deed, and short term or unregistered accommodation is one of the four most cited refusal reasons. A lease declared by the landlord to the tax authority is the strongest proof.
Six to nine months end to end, as advisers reported in 2026: about a month of documents, up to three or four months for the consular decision, an AIMA biometrics appointment one to three months out (up to six in busy periods), then one to three months for the card. Plan against the upper end.
Yes, as accompanying family on the same consular application, which avoids the two year sponsor wait that Lei 61/2025 set for family reunification filed later. Each person pays 110 euros, except children under six. A spouse adds 460 euros a month on the means of subsistence reading and 1,840 on a stricter one, so ask your consulate in writing.
Sources
- Vistos MNE, residency visa required documents (remote work income rule, proof of work, fiscal residence, general documents), accessed .
- Vistos MNE, temporary stay visa required documents (remote work track, promise of work contract and written services proposal), accessed .
- Vistos MNE, national visas general information (residency visa 4 months and 2 entries, AIMA application; temporary stay valid for the whole stay with multiple entries), accessed .
- Vistos MNE, means of subsistence for national visas (920 euros in 2026; 100, 50 and 30 percent; 1,932 euro example), accessed .
- Portaria 1563/2007 of 11 December 2007, means of subsistence, hosted by Vistos MNE, accessed .
- Vistos MNE, national visa fees (110 euros, 75 euro appeal under Order 229/2021 article 15, exemptions), accessed .
- Portuguese Government, minimum wage raised from 870 to 920 euros for 2026 (17 December 2025), accessed .
- Portal das Finanças FAQ, NIF for individuals (representative for non resident third country nationals), accessed .
- GFDL Advogados, Portuguese minimum wage increase 2026 (tripartite agreement, 970 euros in 2027 and 1,020 in 2028), accessed .
- Global Citizen Solutions, Portugal digital nomad visa guide (updated 1 September 2026: 3,680 euros, 11,040 euros of savings, 6 to 9 months as of June 2026, refusal reasons), accessed .
- Imin Portugal, D8 visa guide (9 December 2025: 11,040 euros of savings, lease of at least one year, up to 3 months consular processing), accessed .
- MSP Lawyer, Portugal D7 and D8 visa requirements 2026 (1,840 euros per spouse, 1,104 per child), accessed .
- Lexidy, Portugal digital nomad visa renewal guide (temporary stay extended once, 2 year permit and 3 year renewals, 6 and 8 month absence limits), accessed .
- Jobbatical, AIMA residence permits (updated 1 September 2026: complete files since April 2025, biometrics and card timings), accessed .
- GrowIN Portugal, residence permit renewal 2026 (Lei 23/2007 article 78, DUC paid within 10 working days), accessed .
- Feather, health insurance in Portugal (28 April 2026: cover for the full stay with hospitalisation, premium ranges), accessed .
- Global Citizen Solutions, Portugal residency law changes (manifestação de interesse abolished 3 June 2024 by Decree-Law 37-A/2024; Lei 61/2025 published 22 October 2025, in force 23 October 2025), accessed .
- Visas.pt, Portugal family reunification rules 2026 (two year sponsor wait, fifteen months with cohabitation, nine month AIMA deadline, integration duties), accessed .
- Clark Hill, Portugal nationality law changes 2026 (10 and 7 year periods, clock from the permit issue date), accessed .
Facts in this guide last verified .
Related guides
- Portugal visa options in 2026: Schengen 90/180, D8, D7, D2, the golden visa and EU registration
Portugal visa options for 2026 compared: Schengen 90/180, the D8 at 3,680 EUR, the D7 at 920 EUR, the D2, the golden visa and the EU CRUE, with fees.
- After the visa: AIMA renewals, permanent residence and citizenship under the 2026 laws
Portugal permanent residence comes after 5 years; citizenship now takes 10, or 7 for EU and CPLP nationals. AIMA renewals, fees, absences and the A2 exam.
- Portugal income tax for digital nomads in 2026: tax residency, the IRS brackets and what you actually pay
Digital nomads pay Portuguese tax once resident. The 183 day and habitual home tests, the 2026 IRS brackets, D8 and IFICI facts, and worked take home examples.
Questions on this topic
- Can I apply for the D8 visa while I am in Portugal on a tourist stay?
- Can my spouse and children come with me on a D8 visa?
- Do I need a 12 month lease to apply for a Portugal residence visa?
- How long does the D8 visa take from application to residence card in 2026?
- How much does the Portugal D7 or D8 visa cost in total including fees?
Free tools for this
- Visa Check
Answer a few questions about your stay and see the visa routes that fit, ranked and sourced.
- Currency Check
Euro, baht, dong and common currencies with a dated reference rate and explicit fees.
From the blog
- AIMA issued 337,880 new permits in 2025. So why is your AIMA appointment still waiting?
An AIMA appointment still takes one to three months, up to six when busy, despite record output in 2025. Where the queue sits, how to book and check it, and what to do when AIMA goes silent.
- D8 visa family income requirement: 460 or 1,840 euros per spouse?
A D8 couple needs 4,140 euros a month in 2026 under Portugal's means of subsistence rules. Some advisers quote 5,520. Here is where each figure comes from.
- Portugal D8 visa income requirement: the mistakes people make with it
The D8 asks for 3,680 euros a month in 2026, averaged over your last three months. The mistakes people make with that test, and with the rest of the file.